Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,778

0 members and 2,778 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,078
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull

Thread: Black tail?

Thanks

Black tail?

Hey all! I'm relatively new to reptile keeping and my first BEL Ball python has had this blackened tail for the past 3 sheds (shes in her third now) I thought it might go away after the first and when it didn't I was hopeful for the second. When that didn't happen, on her third now im helping her with the shed by giving her warm baths (she hates swimming) but when the tail shed came off it broke off right at the beginning of the blackend area. Is there anything I can do at home to help her or is it out of my league? btw shes normally a bright white, she appears yellow now due to being in shed.

Thanks
    Thanked 7,195 Times in 2,638 Posts

Black tail?

The shed broke off or the tail tip or both? If the tail itself is what you are saying, then that is a dead and now no longer existent part of your animal’s tail. Stuck shed on tail tips can constrict the blood flow over time and cause it to die as you have now learned first hand. Every time the animal sheds, every single piece of that shed needs to come off from nose to tail tip.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by jmcrook; 02-16-2021 at 10:59 AM.

3. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jmcrook For This Useful Post:

ANewHopeIsHere (02-16-2021),ballpythonluvr (02-16-2021),Bogertophis (02-16-2021),Hugsplox (02-16-2021),nikkubus (02-16-2021),Reinz (02-18-2021)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,130 Times in 534 Posts

Re: Black tail?

Quote Originally Posted by jmcrook View Post