Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,361

1 members and 1,360 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,532
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
    Thanks

Ball Python Won't Eat or Shed

This is my first time posting on here, so please bear with me!

I don't know how old my BP (his name is Breakfast) is, but I suspect him to be at least a year and a half old. I bought him at PetCo almost a year ago. This was before I knew how unethical it was to buy from chain stores, but I was 14 at the time.

He was a little underweight when I first got him because he wouldn't eat the pinkies the employees were trying to feed him. They were far too small for his weight and size, so I fed him live rat pups, which he ate no problem. After he grew a bit, I started feeding him live rat weanlings. He's also eaten small rats on occasion when the store didn't have any weanlings. I'm looking to start feeding him frozen thawed, but I haven't tried until after he went off feed. Up until the end of December he's been eating, drinking, growing, and shedding as much as a BP should. He would shed once every 1½-2 months, and eat once a week.