Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 222

4 members and 218 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.


» Today's Birthdays

weblizard (60)
MamaRhea (30)

» Stats

Members: 70,059
Threads: 244,274
Posts: 2,532,355
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Kerakles
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    09-28-2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Setting up thermostat

    My setup is a AP T8 with a proheat radiant heat panel. My thermostat has alot of settings. I can control two outlets. You set the on and off temp for each outlet. I use the one for the heat panel and the other to monitor the cool side and power the lights. My question is how far apart do I set the on off temps. Currently I have it set 86on 87off. Should I have it further apart?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-17-2020
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Setting up thermostat

    What thermostat do you have? I believe that RHPs work best with a proportional thermostat such as Herpstat

    https://www.spyderrobotics.com/index...products_id=26

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    08-07-2020
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Images: 5

    Re: Setting up thermostat

    Quote Originally Posted by skinnysethrogan View Post
    What thermostat do you have? I believe that RHPs work best with a proportional thermostat such as Herpstat

    https://www.spyderrobotics.com/index...products_id=26

    Per their description "Dual proportional temperature controlling modes (Dimming or Pulse) are built in so you can choose the mode that works best with your setup. " ... i'm waiting for my T8 to arrive and have been curious about the same... should I set it for Dimming or Pulse if using a RHP?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-17-2020
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Setting up thermostat

    You would probably want dimming, this will control how much power goes to the RHP to reach the required temperature.
    Pulse will turn the RHP on/off at a fast interval

  5. #5
    BPnet Veteran Charles8088's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-14-2017
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    558
    Thanked 204 Times in 106 Posts
    Images: 13

    Re: Setting up thermostat

    I second the DIMMING option. Using the Herpstat myself on an RHP in my T8, that is exactly how I have it set.

    Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk
    0.1.0 Mexican Black Kingsnake (Tynee)
    0.1.0 BEL Ball (Luna)
    0.1.0 Normal Ball
    1.0.0 California Kingsnake


    WANT LIST
    - Woma Python
    - Mangrove Snake
    - Boa BCI
    - Russian Rat Snake
    - Eastern Indigo
    - Black Milk Snake
    - False Water Cobra
    - Thai Bamboo Rat Snake
    - Western Hognose
    - Rhino Rat Snake
    - Kenyan Sand Boa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1