Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,977

0 members and 2,977 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Question First snake, help/advice please?!

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting on here. I recently got my very first snake on July 5th(so around 3.5 weeks ago). I had wanted a baby ball python for a few years now, had done lots and lots of research and I was super happy and excited when I brought my baby home. Unfortunately I must say, we didn’t get off to a great start, which was surprising because I went to get my snake from a well reputed, exclusively reptile store in my area. I went in and explained that as this was my first snake, I was looking specifically for a healthy male hatching or juvenile that was a good eater and had good sheds. They brought out a beautiful baby and said he was their biggest hatchling male, and ate and shed without any problems but he only ate live. I asked about transitioning to f/t and they basically told me it wasn’t going to happen with a baby bp. So anyways, as they were so well reputed I really had no reason to doubt them and brought my new baby home. However, in the past 3 weeks or so, I’ve already had to treat him for mites(which he came with as I have no other reptiles), and he had the hardest time shedding and had a pretty intact stuck shed. I soaked him in lukewarm water for 30 mins and tried to help him manually get it off but after a week of this, I took him to the vet this past weekend to learn he is actually a she, and she was very underweight and she had a whole other layer of stuck shed under this current layer!!!! The vet told me to start feeding her every 3-4 days instead of once a week, and showed me how to put her in a little conta