Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 527

10 members and 517 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 03:30 AM.


» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 68,891
Threads: 243,390
Posts: 2,524,554
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, alexlc13
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    06-14-2020
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Replicated an enclosure, but temp/humidity isn't the same

    I have an Animal Plastics t10 that I keep my first ball python in. It has a Pro Products rhp, 2 water dishes (1 on hot 1 on cool) and 2 hides (1 on hot 1 on cool) and a branch for her to slither over. I have the Herpstat set at 90 for most of the day with 2 Acurite gauges in there to quick read the temp/humidity on each end. The probe is in the floor, pretty much under the middle spot of the rhp. The gradient is roughly 90 to about 80 and the humidity I aim to keep around 55-60%, which fluctuates a little here and there.

    I purchased a 2nd enclosure that's made locally and is a clone of the Animal Plastics. The only difference is the color is white instead of black and has glass instead of plexiglass panels. I put the exact same Pro Products panel in and it's in pretty much the same location. The probe is in the floor, just about under the middle point of the rhp just like in the other. I have 2 water dishes in the same setup, though smaller dishes because it's for a smaller ball python, and 2 smaller hides. I have the Herpstat for it set to 90 as well and it's currently reading 93.9 on the Herpstat display with 0% power going to it because the probe is reading higher than the setting. Even though the probe is reading 93.9, the Acurite on that side is reading only 80 degrees and the cool side is reading 78. The hot side is reading 58% and the cool side 62%. Assuming the humidity stays there I'm fine, though I'm curious why the probe and gauge are reading so different. It's had all night and afternoon to normalize but is still off.

    I have the 2 stacked on top of each other. Do you think the rhp on the lower enclosure (which is currently having power sent to it to maintain a setting) is warming the floor a little of the upper enclosure, causing the probe to read higher than it actually is in there? I want this to normalize so I can house a snake with proper husbandry settings.

  2. #2
    BPnet Veteran jmcrook's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-05-2016
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    2,535
    Thanks
    5,697
    Thanked 3,947 Times in 1,669 Posts
    Images: 13

    Re: Replicated an enclosure, but temp/humidity isn't the same

    Quote Originally Posted by Matt300zxt View Post
    The probe is in the floor, just about under the middle point of the rhp just like in the other.

    Do you think the rhp on the lower enclosure (which is currently having power sent to it to maintain a setting) is warming the floor a little of the upper enclosure, causing the probe to read higher than it actually is in there? .
    1.) In or ON the floor? The thermostat probe for an RHP should be in neither location. Ideally dangling under the panel or fixed to a wall very near the panel if setting for hot spot temps.

    2.) Yes.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    06-14-2020
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Oh ok. Was just going off how the original enclosure was setup, that's how the previous owner of the snake did it and she enjoys her noodle life. I also saw a video or two in the past about doing it that way since it's on the surface the snake itself is on (just paper towel substrate) but not opposed to other ways of skinning a cat. I moved the upper one about halfway up the back wall for now and the temp reading on the thermostat dropped significantly. After a few minutes it started reading what the Acurite gauge was saying. If this will get the temps closer to where I want them (I have an infrared thermometer gun as well), then I can fine tune the humidity settings and get it where I want it.

  4. #4
    BPnet Senior Member Mr. Misha's Avatar
    Join Date
    10-16-2013
    Location
    SOCAL
    Posts
    1,686
    Thanks
    424
    Thanked 774 Times in 573 Posts
    Images: 6

    Re: Replicated an enclosure, but temp/humidity isn't the same

    Ideally, the probe should be about one or two fingers above the substrate or floor. If you're using paper towels then obviously above the floor.

    For my terrariums i have the probe hanging below the RHP panel.
    0.1 Reg. BP Het. Albino (Faye),
    1.0 Albino BP (Henry),
    0.1 Pastave BP Het. Pied (Kira)
    1.0 Pied BP (Sam)
    1.0 Bumble Bee BP (Izzy)

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    06-14-2020
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I was able to drop the thermostat to 88 and that has the hot side gauge reading 90 and the cool side reading 82...that is pretty much where I want it. Thanks for the help guys.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Matt300zxt For This Useful Post:

    jmcrook (07-30-2020)

  7. #6
    BPnet Veteran jmcrook's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-05-2016
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    2,535
    Thanks
    5,697
    Thanked 3,947 Times in 1,669 Posts
    Images: 13

    Re: Replicated an enclosure, but temp/humidity isn't the same

    Glad to hear that worked out. Little things make a huge difference. Do you have the other probe in the second cage changed to the same arrangement as well?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1