Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,491

2 members and 2,489 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
    Thanks

Humidifier is too cool?

Hey everyone. So I am new to BPs and I live in a very dry climate. A humidifier is the only way I've been able to keep my humidity up consistently. Unfortunately I've just noticed that while the humidifier is running my surface temps drop quite a bit, into the 70s. Has anyone dealt with this issue before? How concerned should I be? I will really struggle to keep it humid without using the humidifier but of course I can't keep the water hot all the time either. Thoughts? I use two UTHs and a CHE.

Thanks

Re: Humidifier is too cool?

From experience I know that CHEs suck all of the humidity out of the area they're in. I live in a humid climate and I still have trouble with the side of her viv that has the CHE on.

I just focused on making the cool side the humid side as well. So lots of nooks and crannies with lots of sphagnum moss and 'wet' hides where the moss can maintain dampness.

Maybe you could do something similar, where your humidity is focused on the colder side? If you're trying to make the side with the CHE humid you'll not have much luck I wouldn't have thought.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Thanks

Also what temps/humidity are you getting if you DON'T use the humidifier? I'm assuming you've tried moss, spraying, increasing the water dish volume, etc.?

Thanks

Humidifier is too cool?