Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,817

1 members and 2,816 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Question New To the BP World!

So I’m new to the BP world as the title suggests. I just got my beautiful baby black eyed Lucy on this past Tuesday. Her tank ranges from 90ish on the warm side to high 70s on the cool side. She hasn’t ate since I recieved her. I have presented her with a frozen/thawed and she won’t take it. I also tried presenting her with a live feeder mouse today. She won’t take it either. She is active for about 30mins to an hour the past couple of evenings. I assumed for hunting purposes. Should I be concerned that she isn’t eating. Could the shipping and new environment been enough to throw her off feed? How long should I wait before really being concerned with this situation? Thanks in advance for any information.

Registered User Reptile$ 4 Life's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: New To the BP World!

Shipping and a new environment are definitely enough to put any snake off food for a while. You should wait a week after shipping before offering food that way they snake has time to acclimate to its new home. Another thing that will help you is to keep handling to a minimum. You shouldn't handle your new snake until it has successfully eaten 3 meals (If you must move the snake to spot clean then it is ok to do so). If you can I would stick to f/t because it is a pain to switch snakes eating live to f/t... still an ongoing battle for me. Now onto some questions...

What was the previous owner feeding the snake? What size tank do you have and is it sufficiently cluttered? What's the humidity? How did you heat the f/t prey?
    1.0 Normal Ball Python (Flicker)