Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,037

4 members and 3,033 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Are these eggs going to make it?

I’m really upset, this is my first time breeding, and everything seemed to be going so well. I think I know where I messed up though, and try not to be too hard on me as I really did try and do proper. Research and all that. When she laid her eggs, they looked very healthy initially, and no slugs. I decided to go with maternal incubation, which I now realize probably wasn’t a good idea, at least in my case. I gave her the proper conditions to incubate them (she’s about 4 years old and a pretty big girl). Things were going okay the first day, but then the second day she wasn’t really coiling around the eggs properly, was kind of laying on top of some of them, it just didn’t seem right. So , the third day, I put them into ab incubator i had prepared previously just in case. I used spaghnum moss in the bottom of the bin, mixed with water. I had a heat lamp providing the heat (it was far enough away so the heat wasnt directly on the eggs, its off to the side). The temp remained at 30-32 C and the humidity at 95%. I made sure the bin was at a slight angle so any moisture wouldn’t drip on the eggs. I used a small LED light To candle the eggs (I know it’s probably not the proper kind of light), and although I could see veins (and in one of the eggs I could see a small developing head with a black eye) there wasn’t very many, and seemed kind of disconnected. The eggs have green algae looking matter on them, and although they have remained under proper temps, they they are still dented inwards. I’m starting to wonder if the temp reader is incorrect or if it was something that I did wr