Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,441

4 members and 3,437 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,536
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg

Thread: Potential RI?

Thanks

Potential RI?

Hi all, this is my first time posting to this forum so I apologize if I make some mistakes.

So about 3 weeks ago I bought my first BP, a 6 month old het clown. She seemed pretty healthy when I checked her over, however shortly after putting her in her new enclosure I caught her yawning a couple of times. I messaged the seller immediately however he never replied.
    It took me a little while to get her humidity right as well as I've never worked with a species that needs high humidity, I couldn't seem to get it past 42% for the first week. Since then I've raised it and had hoped it would help, but I have continued to see her yawn quite often. I check her over every few days and there are no signs of mucous or bubbles, and I haven't heard any wheezing or clicking either. She eats really well too, and spends most of the time hiding as she should.

Do you think I should be worried? I have anxiety so I've been panicking about it more than I probably should but the yawning seems to be happening way too often. She is in a wooden viv, her temperature is currently 32°C (hot end) and 26°C (cold end), and the humidity is sitting around 56%. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,826 Times in 11,845 Posts
    Let's review: you aren't seeing bubbles or mucus? You aren't hearing clicking, whistling or squeaking sounds? Just abnormal yawning?

I would suggest NOT panicking...snakes do yawn, often it's an effort to re-set their jaws after eating. Have you looked closely at her mouth? Some snakes bump their