Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,681

3 members and 2,678 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Menelas (42)

» Stats

Members: 75,083
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, NopeRopeMD
    Thanks

Exclamation New BP owner could use some help!

Hey everyone! I'm new to all of this. I just got my new male baby BP today from XYZ reptiles. I've done tons of research but I still have some questions and problems. First I'll tell you what his enclosure set-up is:

He's in a 20 gallon glass tank with screen top.
    Heating pad on left side. Water dish on the right side
    Hides on both sides with a log in the middle.
    I have a ceramic heat emitter on the top in the middle kinda towards the left.
    I'm using paper towels for substrate.
    I'm using a thermostat on the heating pad but not on the CHE yet. I don't have a temp gun yet. It comes in the mail tomorrow.
    My hygrometer/ thermometer is mounted on the back glass towards the right side.
    Most of the top is covered with a towel.

So my problems are:
    Humidity- I can't get a stable humidity. The most it ever reaches is about 54%. I'm guessing it's because I use paper towels and a CHE so it dries out easily and quickly but from what I've read, you should start out baby BP's on paper towels. should I keep using that or switch to something else?
    I use the CHE because the cool side was only getting up to 71 degrees without it, but I don't have it turned on all the time. I have to keep spraying his enclosure every 30 minutes or so to keep the humidity up. Sorry for the long post but I could really use some advice here!

Thanks
    Thanked 2,944 Times in 1,958 Posts
    Put damp moss in both hides. I did this for years with great success when I had two heat source over a screen top tank.