Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,900

2 members and 2,898 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

How to get the temperature just right?

Hello Snake Charmers!

This is my first post. My son, he's 11, just got a desert kingsnake. Though I'm a big fan of snakes and things slithery, I'm no expert. We've spent a bunch of time researching the needs of the snake. We are struggling with one component, and seemingly a very important one, how to measure temperature. I've searched the forum, and other places on the internet, but don't feel like we're getting the clarity we need.

We have three thermometers:
    • one on the warm side, with the probe sitting on top of the aspen bedding. it measures 83 F.
    • one hanging on the cool side, about three inches above the bedding. It measure 72 F.
    • using an infrared gun we measure 85 to 90 F on the warm side bedding, and 71 F on the cool side.
    • the glass under the bedding on the warm side using the IR gun measure about 100 F

How does all that sounds?

Also, we have two hides, one on each end. It's used both so far.

Thanks for your consideration and help.

Banned
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,072 Times in 5,330 Posts
    The temperature of the substrate is irrelevant. You want to use your thermometers to measure ambient temps while using your temp gun to measure surface temps. And by surface I mean the enclosure surface, not the substrate. Snakes can and will burrow to the surface, so that's what number is important.

It sounds like your heat sources aren't regulated by thermostat?? If this is true you need one ASAP and should unplug your UTH.

And also, how are you heating the enclosure?
    Your temps all need to come down a bit too.