Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,286

1 members and 3,285 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,534
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Thanks

Advice Needed! My ball python won’t eat!

Hello, I’m seeking some advice on feeding my ball python. I was given a ball python for Christmas. I’ve had one other ball pythons before, but I got him as an adult, so this is my first time with a juvenile ball python. Since getting him on Christmas morning, I’ve had some difficulty with feeding my new snake.
    So far, I have not had any success feeding him. He was purchased from Petsmart and had always been fed frozen “fuzzies.” I finally was able to talk to the person who cares for the snakes. He said that they have always fed him in a separate container. In all my previous attempts, I have tried to feed him in his own enclosure. Last weekend, I tried feeding him in a separate container, with no success. I feel like I only stressed him more. I know it’s not ideal, and I did not intend to stress my snake, I just want him to eat. I would prefer to feed him in his enclosure. Any tips/tricks to “train” him to do this successfully?
    Also, I have noted that he seems rather fearful of me. I think that my presence during feeding is a deterrence. I would like to make him realize that I’m not a threat, but according to everything I’ve read, handling should be a minimum until he feeds. But, if he is not eating because he is scared of me, should I try to handle him more?