Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,882

0 members and 2,882 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,087
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
    Thanks

Humidity too high?

Hey you guys, this is my first time posting so bare with me lol!

i have my ball python in a 20 gallon glass tank. The temperature is 77 on the cold side and 88 on the warm side, heated by a CHE on a thermostat. I am using 60% cypress mulch, 35% eco earth, and 5% sphagnus moss

the humidity on the cool side is 93% and 85% on the warm side. It is damp but not wet and has no standing water, and it there is no condensation on the tank walls. Is this a problem and should I be trying harder to get it lower? I tried lowering it by removing a part of my aluminum foil taped top off but this caused a huge temperature drop and I didn’t like it

if high humidity is a really big deal I guess I can just take some of the bedding out and change out the big water bowl for a smaller one but I wanted to see if it’s really a big deal before I do all of that

thanks in advance for the help!

Thanks
    That would definitely be high long term. Personally, I would aim closer to 60%

How are you measuring the humidity? Digital hygrometer, stick on dial, humidity probe? Dials especially tend to be inaccurate. Here's how you can test it to see if it's accurate https://www.neptunecigar.com/tips/ho...our-hygrometer

The CHE should dry out the bedding reasonably quickly. If it were me I'd remove maybe a quarter of the bedding and Mix in dry mulch/eco/sphagnum and see where that takes the humidity?

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Meghenebk For This Useful Post:

CALM Pythons (01-29-2020)

Telling it like it is! Stewart_Reptiles's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 20,811 Times in 9,584 Posts