Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,662

0 members and 2,662 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

thermoregulation question

hi everyone, i am new to owing snakes and reptiles in general so this may be a stupid question but it is just something i am curious about. obviously i know that snakes have to regulate their own body temperature and that is why we give them a thermal gradient but i thought that thermoregulating was more something snakes do through out the day. but my ball python, who i have had for about four months now will pick a hide and stay there for weeks aside from roaming about at night. and then after a few weeks he will switch to the other side. sometimes for discernible reasons such as digesting or getting away from a poop/shed but sometimes for no reason that i can see. his hides are not identical but he spends significant time in each so i don’t think that is the reason. am i just being stupid and this is normal or could something possibly be wrong? how often do your snakes move to thermoregulate?

Thanks
    Thanked 19,739 Times in 11,797 Posts
    They all do their "own thing" according to what they need, and they didn't "read the manual". Assume they move more at night, in the dark, when unobserved.

Many snakes sit still when watched (as a defense), but if you've been sitting still watching your snake & waiting for him to move & thermoregulate all this time, you
    may have a bigger issue than he does? ROFL. I'm just teasing......but stop worrying. BPs are not very active snakes to begin with. I can promise you that my rat