Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,873

1 members and 2,872 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shedding

Thanks

Shedding

Hi everyone I'm kinda new to all this had my blue eyed lucie about 5 weeks now it definitely looks like shes going to have her first shed but I'm not sure if she is having a hard time or dehydrated she has gone all wrinkly and just generally doesnt look right. She has a constant supply of water there for if she either wants a drink or to soak in. I am being told conflicting things as to wether it's not humid enough and there for her and wether to spray her or her viv a little with some water she has things in her viv that she can rub on too she just doesnt seem to want to move which I know is normal but how will she get the skin off if she wont come out I had to take her hide off her to get some pictures she had a crawl around for about 10mins then went back into her hide where she has stayed since and that is the first time she had been out of her hide in a week. I wish I could post a picture to show you but it wont allow me for some reason any advice criticism would be appreciated

Thanks
    Thanked 9,691 Times in 3,863 Posts

Re: Shedding

Snakes can look wrinkled and dehydrated when going into shed.

What is your humidity level?

If under 55%-60%, raise it a little to help the shed. Higher humidity for a short period will not hurt your BP and will help the shed.

I am assuming all your temps are dialed in and regulated. If not, and the tank is too cold, or too hot, raising humidity could hurt the BP.

3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to dakski For This Useful Post: