Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,859

2 members and 2,857 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

6 m/o jungle carpet python refusing to eat

Hey everyone, I’m a newbie carpet keeper and I picked up a pair from a breeder online! The male is doing fantastic and has progressed from F/T rat pinkies to pups at this point but his female counterpart refused to switch and hasn’t eaten properly since. Her last feeding was 10/30 with a 3 week gap between the previous feeding to this. I’ve checked all husbandry aspects multiple times and everything seems to be stable. Hot spot around 90-93°F, room temps around 75-78°F. I’ve debated on increasing cage size to allow for more exercise but have chosen not to up until this point due to her not feeding.

I’ve tried leaving over night, blow dryer warm up, hot water bath, and a combo of water/blow dryer to make sure the feeders are nice and warm to the touch (not burning hot).

Any advice on getting this girl to eat would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
    Thanked 9,842 Times in 4,771 Posts
    For now I would go back to whatever the breeder was feeding (live vs f/t? mice vs rats? not sure what was meant by "switch") until you get 3-4 meals into her. Then you can try switching her.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bcr229 For This Useful Post:

JCP_freak (12-22-2019),Reinz (12-06-2019)

Thanks
    Thanked 4,897 Times in 2,992 Posts

Re: 6 m/o jungle carpet python refusing to eat

Are you feeding evenings , dim light ...
    wait until it’s settled under a hide then dangle the WARM mouse over the hide entrance ... if there’s any interest shown, even just a tongue flick ... warm again with a hairdryer and offer again INSTANTLY whilst it’s still warm