Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,838

1 members and 2,837 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

tiny white bugs?

hi everyone, when i was changing my bp’s water today i noticed a bunch of white bugs on the surface of the water and i was just wondering what they could be? they didn’t look like mites to me, they weren’t black, they were long and white and i looked around the rest of the enclosure and i didn’t notice anymore of them and i haven’t noticed any on my actual snake either. when i googled it, it said that they could possibly be springtails? is that what it sounds like? and if it is springtails should i be worried about it/how should i get rid of them? i am very new to snake keeping so all advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Re: tiny white bugs?

Quote Originally Posted by miatb View Post
    hi everyone, when i was changing my bp’s water today i noticed a bunch of white bugs on the surface of the water and i was just wondering what they could be? they didn’t look like mites to me, they weren’t black, they were long and white and i looked around the rest of the enclosure and i didn’t notice anymore of them and i haven’t noticed any on my actual snake either. when i googled it, it said that they could possibly be springtails? is that what it sounds like? and if it is springtails should i be worried about it/how should i get rid of them? i am very new to snake keeping so all advice is appreciated.
    Were you able to get a photo of them?

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
    - Cheyenne
    2.2 Felis catus - Jet, Jasper, Terra, Meadow
    0.1 Python reguis (Het Piebald) - Tiamat

3. The Following User Says Thank You to OkamiFlautist For This Useful Post:

miatb (11-17-2019)

Thanks