Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,081

0 members and 3,081 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
    Thanks

Help getting snakes to eat

Hello,

I need some advice for trying to get some adult ball pythons I recently acquired eating.

I have been keeping ball pythons for several years now and recently I have been breeding ball pythons. A few months ago, I decided to upgrade and acquired five adult proven breeder ball pythons to add to my collection (2 males, 3 females). One of them ate the first time I attempted to feed and that was it. None of the others have eaten.

I use a temperature gun to measure my hot spot which is 91-92 depending which tub is measured, I heat the snake room and the ambient inside the snake tubs reads 78-79. All of my snakes are kept in rack systems and I have kept the conditions constant over the years I have kept ball pythons and never had any problems until recently. Also I keep all my snakes on cypress mulch, humidity in minimum 50% at all times, I lightly mist if I see a snake is going into shed. Shedding is rarely a problem for all my snakes, they usually shed in one piece. I use heat cable and a thermostat for one of my snake racks. The other is heat tape with a thermostat. I never handle a snake that isn’t eating unless it’s necessary to quickly weigh them or clean.