Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,369

3 members and 3,366 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
    Thanks

Question BP retained eye caps or something else?? First shed w/ new owner

Hi! So this is my BP's first shed with me since I got him about 2 months ago. I noticed he was in the blue phase so I made sure to raise his humidity (my hygrometer read 75%) yet he still has a little bit of shed stuck on the end of his tail and it appears that he may have retained eye caps but I'm not really sure?? I don't know what they look like but it's like the middle part of his eye is black and the surrounding part of it is a more cloudy color. There will be pictures attached below since I'm not really good at explaining. I just want to know if these are retained eye caps and if they are how I would get them off, also how to get his stuck shed on his tail off. Thank you!

Thanks
    Thanked 19,826 Times in 11,845 Posts
    Those look like normal eyes to me...his pupil is black (center) & his eye color is that murky mix. DO NOT damage his eyes trying to remove what belongs there.

You need to learn to check his shed skin for the eye-caps, & you do need to (gently! & with added dampness) help remove stuck skin on his tail tip, otherwise a few
    sheds may stick there & will actually constrict the tiny blood flow to the tail tip just enough to cause tissue death...then your snake's tail tip dies and falls off...I know
    you don't want that.

Start by spraying his tail tip a few times, then with him cuddled on your lap, start gently handling his tail area way above where the stuck skin is...do this to reassure