Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,483

3 members and 1,480 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,533
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

New BP Questions

Hey everyone! Im still fairly new to the hobby so please forgive the question but id love some feedback.

We picked up a lesser BP from the pet store on 10/5. The BP was hatched on 8/2 and first shed on 8/9 and currently weighs 136g. On 10/2 the store said he ate 2 adult mice and he looked massive. Curious if thats normal for that size of snake to eat two adult mice. I felt he was a little over fed but i feel i may be too new to this area to know for sure. Thoughts? Also, since he ate two mice on 10/2 should i try and offer him a meal today (10/9) or give him some more time to digest. He still looks like he might be digesting. I have set up a 20gal long bio active habitat for him and will be moving him to that in the next day or two. Should I try and feed him before the move or move him and then wait a few more days before offering a meal?

Thanks
    Last edited by SeverusSnake27; 10-09-2019 at 08:44 AM.

Thanks

Re: New BP Questions

I'm fairly new to this as well but there is no way a baby that size should be eating 2 adult mice. One adult mouse would be pushing it. My ball weighs around that much and he eats one rat pup (similar size to a small mouse) once a week. There is no reason a snake that size should be being fed two mice at a time. I would wait another week before feeding him. But I am no expert and as I said I am fairly new to this as well. This is just my opinion. My ball had the opposite problem at his pet store...they were only feeding him a mouse fuzzy once a week...way to small.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk