Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,918

2 members and 2,916 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Sumatran Short Tail - Right For Me?

Hey! It's been a while since I last made any kind of post here.

After a long time of bouncing between various corn/king snakes, ball pythons, and larger boas, I think I've finally settled on my "dream" snake: P. curtis, or the Sumatran Short Tail. Specifically, a male with a normal appearance, but I'll take a cheap morph if I can get one so as long as the individual is well-tempered.

Being a beginner, I know the pythons related to bloods are not recommended; however, my reasoning for choosing this snake specifically is because I only intend on ever owning one snake that matches what I've always loved about them. I do not want to get a beginner snake that I'm vaguely interested in and am not sure I'll put my heart and soul into; If I'm getting a snake, it's going to be one snake and one snake that I'll be dedicating myself to, and one that I deeply admire from the start. Other reasons go as follows:
    - They are large without being uncontrollable; bigger than a ball python but smaller than a redtail
    - They are thick-bodied and heavy without being too long.
    - According to what I've been reading, they prefer simple setups
    - Some are described as "lap snakes"- I know it depends on the individual, but "lap snake" fits the bill of everything I want in a large python. A cool critter to chill with.

I know their husbandry can be tough to beginners, so I intend on practicing with keeping stable humidity and temps in a setup before I ever get the animal. And, with all the research I've been doing, here's what I'm still unsure about: