Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,076

0 members and 3,076 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,101 Times in 460 Posts

Just lost another friend to alcoholism

About 3 years ago I lost a dear friend to alcoholic liver disease. He had been clean and sober for years, but the damage was done. My last good memory of him was going to his house and having him show me how to make pie crust. He was a good cook, and even then, as a nurse, I could tell he was dying. He never wanted to believe that, and he was hoping for a liver transplant until the very end. The last time I saw him, he was on full life support measures and we were taking turns holding his hand and saying goodbye. He squeezed my hand back.

And then today I found out another dear friend just passed away. She was my best friend, we had a deep connection like two long-lost sisters. I knew she had a drinking past, but then started to see the signs of heavy drinking again. She totally denied it, even when me and her partner had an intervention with her-- even after he had found and been tracking her stash and seeing the alarming rate at which she drank the hard stuff. It broke my heart but I had to let go of her and walk away, as long as she was in denial. I walked away from our entire friend/social group because it was an enabling environment. Her partner also broke up with her after 7 years together.