Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,829

3 members and 2,826 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

African House Snake Setup

Hello all,

I am brand new to snakes and this forum but not to reptiles. I teach middle school science and have several animals up at the school. I felt a snake would be a great addition. After doing quiet a bit of research, I decided a colubrid of some form would be best. I eventually decided on an African House Snake because I liked the look of the specific one I got the best, and because they stay on the smaller side, so she will likely be able to stay in the setup I have.

Here is my setup:

Tank: 29 gallon, screen top, 4 top clamps, plus 2 brackets with locks (school requirement so the kids can't get into the tank)

Substrate: Eco Earth, Cyprus mulch, sphagnum moss mix

Heating: UTH on thermostat set at 90, 50w basking light just to provide options. Warm side air temp around 85, warm hide around 90

Lighting: basking spot, LED grow light mostly for plants

Humidity: 45%-65% rises after I water plants

Hides: hot side hide is a cave shaped rock, left side/cool side black plastic tray with a hole cut in it, center hide top half of a ceramic fake rock humid hide.

Decor: Spider wood, cork pieces, river rock, Pothos

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-59...w?usp=drivesdk

Thoughts on the setup?

And the only pic I have of my girl because I was dumb and didn't take any before I put her in the tank, but she is beautiful yellow with orange markings.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-5m...w?usp=drivesdk

Any additional care tops would be great too as this is my first snake. Thanks.

Sorry the pics are links. I couldn't figure out how to embed them.