Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,829

5 members and 2,824 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,083
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, NopeRopeMD

Hybrid View

Thanks

New Ball Python Owner

Hi I'm new to ball pythons and snake owning in general so I was looking maybe for some tips on my husbandry. Here's the basic info on my set up.
    1. How long have you had your ball python?

I got her online and she was delivered yesterday 8/6. So about 36 hours maybe.

2. How old (or how big) is your snake?

She is around 8-9 months I think. Last weighted she was 140 g and 14 inch.

3. Does it eat on a regular schedule?

For the breeder? Yes. And fed well.

4. How long since its last meal?

The breeder last feed her on the 27th.

5. What type/size prey is being offered?

The breeder said she was feed adult live mice because she was being picky and they wanted to make sure she ate before she left. Didnt specify on the size but I can ask. Fyi I will be feeding her f/t.

6. How often do you offer food?

I'm going to offer her food most likely on sunday and then try and keep a schedule of about every 7 days.

7. What type and size of enclosure does it live in?

Shes living in a 30 gallon plastic tub. With three hides one for hot one for cold and then a paper towel cardboard with paper towel stuffed in recommended by the breeder in about the middle.

8. What are you using as substrate? If it has depth, how deep is it?

Aspen. With about a depth of 1/4 to 1/2 half of substrate throughout the enclosure. Might eventually switch to cypress mulch for better humidity levels.

9. What type of heating do you use?

UTH on one side, with temp controls.

10. Do you use a thermostat to control temperatures?

Yes.

11. What do you use to measure/monitor temperatures?

Temp gun