Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,221

2 members and 2,219 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Two or Three Questions

My Ball Python is my first snake so I have quite a few worries and questions. I haven't yet had him for a year so I may be a bit too worried a bit early.

Worry 1 is I know Ball Pythons are known for going off feed so I worry if my snake either is really hungry or if he has a good feeding response. He has not refused a single meal so far. My snake isn't looking like he is starving although I suspect he might be a bit underweight maybe. I'm not too experienced so I ain't sure. He pokes his head out as soon as he gets a whiff of his food and very readily takes it. I feed him on a consistent schedule of every Wednesday. Tad bit of a question here relating to feeding. I've noticed a bit of shakiness every time when he is eating and trying to get the head to go down first, (He always gets it by the throat or the belly), and was wondering if that is normal.

Worry 2 is my snake has not pooped for about now a month. He has before pretty much consistently pooped 3 or 4 days after being fed. Along with the not pooping, he has been almost always in the cool hide, seems to be a bit more stressed and hiding much more. I am worried about if I should help his constipation, when should I help and if he is rather sick.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,793 Times in 11,827 Posts
    (1) We aren't seeing him so it's hard to say if he's underweight...but, you should be feeding him f/t rodents that are roughly the same diameter (thickness)
    of his mid-body (before he's fed), or slightly less than that. How often are you feeding him? What is his age? From what you say, he sounds like he has a