Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,845

0 members and 2,845 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Exclamation Sand boa help please!!

Hey there! This is my first time posting as well as my first time owning a snake.
    My Sand Boa is about 8-10 months old. When I got her the breeder said she has shed about 2 weeks prior. Then she shed about two weeks after I got her and now 2 weeks later she is in shed again. is this normal???
    She has also been a good eater but didn’t come out to eat last weekend and just refused food today. She did eat two pinkies in a row on the 9th and that was the first time she has been given two at a time. I would love some thoughts here.
    i just don’t know what to do exactly and im finding limited resources on her specific type of snake.
    She looks kinda oddly wrinkly right now as well (like when she bends her body) . I don’t know if that’s normal in shed (I left her alone and she stayed buried most of the last shed so I didn’t realy see her). But her eyes are milky and she has a big piece of shed near her head so I know she’s shedding
    Last edited by TheWildChild; 06-16-2019 at 06:50 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,739 Times in 11,797 Posts
    For young snakes like yours, this sounds pretty normal to me. I've kept many kinds, not KSB specifically, but here's the thing: you said she's a good
    feeder, and young & small snakes like sand boas can only eat small prey that's digested quickly, so they do a LOT of eating, which results in a lot of shedding, since
    that's how they grow. It's normal for a snake to refuse food when they are in a shed cycle (often they start refusing before it's even obvious to us...somehow they