Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,841

0 members and 2,841 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks
    Thanked 19,739 Times in 11,797 Posts

"Rattlesnakes two hours apart pack totally different venoms" (from National Geo.)

With 2 current threads about rattlesnakes, here's an article I found very interesting, about how variable the venom can be for the SAME species of rattlesnake,
    found in nature just 2 hours apart in differing habitats...and some speculation as to the reason they have evolved this way.

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/s...ferent-venoms/

BTW, I'm a former resident of Southern California who has been to these places, but fortunately with no bites.
    Last edited by Bogertophis; 05-17-2019 at 11:04 PM.

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Bogertophis For This Useful Post:

bcr229 (05-17-2019),Bodie (05-18-2019),fadingdaylight (05-18-2019),FollowTheSun (05-17-2019),Reinz (05-18-2019)

Thanks
    Hikers beware. Very interesting stuff here.
    - Jason

"Why should I fear what others fear? How ridiculous!" - Lao Tzu

Thanks

Re: "Rattlesnakes two hours apart pack totally different venoms" (from National Geo.

Quote Originally Posted by fadingdaylight View Post
    Hikers beware. Very interesting stuff here.
    For sure! It makes it very challenging for doctors treating a bite...even if you know what bit you, it might not matter. Fortunately they do get plenty of practice
    at Loma Linda (CA), & immediate symptoms should narrow it down.

Thanks

Re: "Rattlesnakes two hours apart pack totally different venoms" (from National Geo.

Quote Originally Posted by Bogertophis View Post