Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,087

5 members and 1,082 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,533
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
    Thanks

Large thermal burn progress + should I continue with vet care?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to BP.net but not new to housing BPs. The burn pictured below happened on my third snake, after a new thermostat hooked up to a smaller heatpad I'd used before (same recycled tank too- not restuck) must've malfunctioned overnight. Husbandry has been fixed now and the burn is on its 4th week of healing and 2 sheds in since it happened. I thought it might be nice to make a post showing progess, as it was a really bad burn that has healed beautifully in very little time, and in the moments after it happened when I was looking for similar cases online there were no progress or healed pictures anywhere! Very discouraging!

For those wondering, treatment involved 2 warm chlorhexidine and water baths (1tbsp of chlorhexidine per bath, 10-15 mins each) daily, application of flamazine cream to the wound after bathing, and antibiotic injections every 3 days. Also important to note, before seeing the vet and being prescribed this treatment, I was using the internet recommended betadine bath and polysporin treatment and the snake quickly developed signs of septicemia.