Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,733

2 members and 2,731 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Question Dropping my feeder in substrate!

Hello! I'm totally new at this, so please take it easy Ive had my BP for three weeks now, and he/she is a delight! It is too young to tell if it is a boy or a girl so I'm not sure what to say LOL. Anywhoo...

So I need some feeding tips. I tried to feed him/her a F/T fuzzy (what they had been feeding it before), but I kept dropping the dang thing in the coco substrate. So then, I would run to the kitchen, run it under the hot water, and try again only to drop it again another two or three times. After that, I could tell it was stressed so I gave up. I tried again the next day with the same results. I have been reading and it seems that a lot of ppl say it isn't a big deal for them to swallow some shredded substrate so that brought up and idea...So, now it is a week later and I'm ready to try again today. Would it be ok for me to just heat up the fuzzy and then just lay it on the substrate for him/her to take at its leisure? If not, would it be ok for me to set it on something plastic (like a pringles lid or something) and then set it in there for him/her? Any tips would be appreciative.

Also, I did try taking her out of the enclosure and putting her in a plastic tote with the F/T fuzzy and leaving her/him for a couple of hours with no luck either!

Banned
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,072 Times in 5,330 Posts
    Ok, a few things: first, welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of snake keeping!!