Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,909

2 members and 2,907 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

banana spotnose paradox?

found an ad for an adult male banana spotnose paradox BP for $350... is it just me, or is that a heckuva deal?? maybe I'm just a newbie (which I am) but it seems like just a banana sometimes goes for $300, and paradox would just make it even more expensive... he also comes with an enclosure, substrate, feeders, etc...

just for fun I calculated what the offspring would be if I purchased and paired him with my wild-type BP, and paradox is showing as "pos" - is that the same as 100% het? Obviously if I did start breeding I would definitely read up on all of the terms/procedure/etc, but I'm just curious.

thanks in advance!
    o { I do admire your courage. I think I'll eat your heart. } o

0.1 Normal Ball Python - Kira

1.0 Pointer mix - Duke
    0.1 GSD - Nikita
    1.0 Cat - Simba

Thanks
    Thanked 1,237 Times in 501 Posts

Re: banana spotnose paradox?

My understanding of paradox is that it's a random gene mutation that affects the snake's markings/coloring in some way. It's not a predictable, reproducable morph. A quick glance on MM shows some banana spotnoses for around $350, more expensive when other genes are added.
    BALL PYTHONS: 1.0 Pied/Clark, 1.0 Pastel Vanilla Super Stripe/Sunny, 0.1 Dragon Fly/Buffy, 0.1 Pastel Vanilla Yellow Belly/Cher, 0.1 BEL (Mojave Lesser)/Arya, 0.0.1 Normal/Norm, 0.1 Cinnamon Enchi/Peaches, 1.0 Cinnamon Calico/Yoshi, 0.1 Pewter Het Dreamsicle/Ariel
    BOAS: 0.1 Dumeril's/Memphis, 0.1 BCL/Artemis, 1.0 BCO/Grimm, 0.1 Suriname BCC/Rhubarb
    CORN SNAKES: 0.0.1/Mushu