Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,130

1 members and 3,129 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,535
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
    Thanks

Is there a reason most racks pull from the short side?

Hello everyone, I'm brand new here. I'm still learning all I can (So many morphs, so many combos, it makes my brain spin), but I'll likely not be getting any snakes for a while.
    I'm looking at building my own racks. Is there a reason almost all racks are configured to pull the bins from the short side? My thinking is that if I make them pull from the long side (like bookshelf configuration), I'd be able to have some shelves for babies and some shelves for adults on the same rack. Considering I only plan to start out with a pair or a trio, this would work well for me.
    Is it just a space saving thing? Or are there advantages to doing it the usual way that I don't see?

Telling it like it is! Stewart_Reptiles's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 20,811 Times in 9,584 Posts
    Blog Entries
    The reason his space management, most people have their rack leaning against their wall obviously if they open from the short side you can put more racks on a wall than you would the long side.
    Deborah Stewart

Thanks
    Thanked 1,179 Times in 575 Posts

Re: Is there a reason most racks pull from the short side?

For enclosed racks with solid sides, you also get the benefit of a longer thermal gradient for them to use since most people run the heat tape along the back, regardless which orientation the rack is.