Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,877

1 members and 2,876 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable

Thread: Behavior change

Thanks

Behavior change

Hello, I'm relatively new to BP keeping, as I got my first snake (a female normal, named Andromeda) four months ago. Her cool side sits at 81-82° and her warm side sits at 91-92°. Her humidity sits at 60-65% on average (sometimes it reaches higher, but rarely lower). One hide on the cool side, one on the warm side, a big water bowl, plenty of clutter and a branch to climb. She eats fantasticly well, sheds in one piece, and seems healthy physically.

For some context, I've noticed that after a feeding, she will hang out in her warm hide until she poops. However, this time when I fed her, she's spent the day in her warm hide, and then is super active at night, slithering around and wanting out. I've scoured her cage just in case I missed something. I cleaned her cage completely a couple days ago. The only difference I've noted is it's beginning to get warmer out (we had a nice warm 70° day for the first time since I got her). Am I just concerned over nothing? Is this normal? I want to be sure that nothing is wrong, I care for her so much.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,794 Times in 11,828 Posts
    It's possible that her prey was a bit on the small side & she's looking for more...that's typical of snakes & most of us too & doesn't mean she really needs more.
    It's better for a snake to eat a little less rather than a little too much anyway.

It may also mean she's just getting bolder as she's grown some & feels more settled in...and it may mean nothing at all. Don't worry about it...I really don't think