Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,230

1 members and 2,229 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
    Thanks

Question New Owner Help Please!

Ok so I have been hoping to get a red tail boa for about 4 years now and I have been doing my research on and off for that time. I am getting a one-year old boa in two weeks and I still have some questions for more experienced keepers.

I will be making 3 different threads to answer my specific areas of concern!

Info on my Current Situation:

• The boa is between 6 mo. and 1 year old
    • I'm not sure his length but I am assuming he's no larger than 3ft. max considering his age.
    • I currently have a temporary set up in a 3ft/4ft long tank.
    • I will be ordering a custom made enclosure as soon as I can 72L x 30W x 18H

Questions I have:

• Will this temporary enclosure be ok for him for the next 5 months or so? The custom enclosure will take some time to be made and come in.
    • Will the new large enclosure be too much for a young boa even if I have enough hides and secure places for him?
    • Is this enclosure just overkill? He will be my first snake and I want to give him the absolute best I can.

Thank you for reading all of this!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,986 Times in 1,247 Posts

Re: New Owner Help Please!

I dont think there is such a thing as overkill when it comes to space for a boa. I think you will be fine with the temp setup size. Put some hides in there so the young boa can feel safe when it needs to. Maybe clutter it up a bit. Should be good provided your husbandry is good to go.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by cletus View Post