Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,260

1 members and 1,259 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Homemade RHP

Thanks

Homemade RHP

Hi guys. I've never used a rhp before. Pretty much always used Ceramics for heat though I do like the idea of rhp's. my basic understanding of them is that they produce a mild heat of 180-200 degrees but over a large area to provide sufficient heat. My crazy idea while making pancakes was why can I not take an elcectric griddle, hard wire the plug to it and hook it to a thermostat with power output control or a rheostat, limit the input to keep it around 180ish degrees maximum surface temp. If it's limited to a certain temp and run off a proportional thermostat would this not be similar to a rhp? Has anyone tried such a thing? For the 35-40$ it would be to by a griddle and make a rheostat it would sure be a lot cheaper if it actually worked.
    1.0 platinum retic "woody"
    0.1 purple albino retic "Jessie"
    0.1 albino corn "evie"

Thanks
    Thanked 1,237 Times in 501 Posts

Re: Homemade RHP

...I would not take that risk. Pretty sure there's a whole science behind RHPs/radiant heat in general that I would not want to try to replicate myself. Not to mention all of the safety standards and failsafes utilized. Just as one example, yes the RHP is warm, but certainly not 180-200 degrees at the surface like you mentioned.
    BALL PYTHONS: 1.0 Pied/Clark, 1.0 Pastel Vanilla Super Stripe/Sunny, 0.1 Dragon Fly/Buffy, 0.1 Pastel Vanilla Yellow Belly/Cher, 0.1 BEL (Mojave Lesser)/Arya, 0.0.1 Normal/Norm, 0.1 Cinnamon Enchi/Peaches, 1.0 Cinnamon Calico/Yoshi, 0.1 Pewter Het Dreamsicle/Ariel