Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 207

19 members and 188 guests
Most users ever online was 3,642, 05-08-2016 at 08:50 AM.


» Today's Birthdays

chemdogxxx (28)

» Stats

Members: 64,054
Threads: 238,182
Posts: 2,474,022
Top Poster: JLC (31,652)
Welcome to our newest member, HouseofNoodles
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User Theflyingyogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    01-22-2019
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Issues with Temperatures

    So, as I mentioned I knew I'd have issues with them.

    I have Gamora in a 20gal long. She has about 2.5" to 3" of substrate. I have the thermostat prob taped to the bottom of the tank and the heat pad set to 95. However the hide is only reaching the high 70s. The ambient temp for the tank is also low to mid 70, with 61% humidity.

    I just got a ceramic heat emitter, in Hope's that it will give me an ambient temp of 80. But what do I do about the hot spot?

  2. #2
    BPnet Veteran
    Join Date
    08-29-2006
    Posts
    282
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 173 Times in 98 Posts
    How are you measuring the temp? What kind of heat mat and thermostat? What's the temp on the bottom of cage not top of substrate?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to chakup For This Useful Post:

    Theflyingyogi (02-17-2019)

  4. #3
    Sometimes It Hurts... PitOnTheProwl's Avatar
    Join Date
    11-21-2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    11,917
    Thanks
    6,113
    Thanked 6,793 Times in 4,178 Posts
    Images: 3
    1st.... substrate is too thick.
    2nd....what is the temperature UNDER the substrate?

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to PitOnTheProwl For This Useful Post:

    Theflyingyogi (02-17-2019)

  6. #4
    Registered User Theflyingyogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    01-22-2019
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Issues with Temperatures

    I'm measuring using a temp gun and using the same equipment I was using for my leopard gecko.

    Substrate is a mixture if eco earth and repti back.

    Thermostat is Century Digital Heat Mat Thermostat Controllerand heat mat is from Zoomed.

    Temperature on the bottom of the tank, once I move all the substrate is from the hot spot is 87. Now where the CHE and heat pad kind of over lap the temp on the mat is 93. Temperature on the cool side is 78 (on TOP of the substrate).

    How much substrate should I be using?

    The hydrometer measures 72% humidity and temp of 79 on warm side on top of substrate.




    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Theflyingyogi; 02-17-2019 at 08:22 PM.

  7. #5
    Sometimes It Hurts... PitOnTheProwl's Avatar
    Join Date
    11-21-2010
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    11,917
    Thanks
    6,113
    Thanked 6,793 Times in 4,178 Posts
    Images: 3
    About 1/2 inch of substrate is all thats needed.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to PitOnTheProwl For This Useful Post:

    Theflyingyogi (02-17-2019)

  9. #6
    Registered User Theflyingyogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    01-22-2019
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Issues with Temperatures

    Quote Originally Posted by PitOnTheProwl View Post
    About 1/2 inch of substrate is all thats needed.
    Lol what a fail!

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  10. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    04-04-2019
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Issues with Temperatures

    Heat panel won’t do much for ambient air temps. Heat the room

  11. #8
    Registered User Avsha531's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-22-2018
    Location
    North Jersey
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    599
    Thanked 433 Times in 232 Posts

    Re: Issues with Temperatures

    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom1987 View Post
    Heat panel won’t do much for ambient air temps. Heat the room
    This is an inaccurate statement, heat panels and CHE's will definitely increase ambients.

    In your case, I would suggest covering the screen top entirely with 3 sheets if time foil, shiny side down, and tape the hole thing over (On the outside, NO TAPE IN THE ENCLOSURE). Cut a hole for the CHE dome, and a 1.5"x1.5" cutout on each side for airflow. That will help keep up the heat and the humidity.

    Also, the CHE will give a hotspot as well as increase ambient temperatures, so make sure you use a temp gun for the hotspot and that the CHE is on a thermostat (or at the very least a dimmer if your room stays a consistent temp, but this is less foolproof)

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    1.0 Kenyan Sand Boa - Sir Hiss🎩🐍
    0.1 Pastel Ball Python - Exzahrah
    0.1 Brazilian Rainbow Boa - Nymeria
    0.1 Suriname Red Tail BCC- Sascha
    0.1 WT Ball Python- Ariana
    1.0 Bumblebee Ball Python- Fabio

    WISHLIST:
    Dumerils Boa
    Candino BP
    Granite IJ Carpet Python
    White Lipped Python
    Komodo Dragon


    "​Normal is just a setting on the washing machine..."

  12. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Avsha531 For This Useful Post:

    indygunnerguy (Today),Sonny1318 (04-09-2019),TechnoCheese (04-09-2019)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1