Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,613

2 members and 2,611 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
    Thanks

Question Inbreeding With Rats?

Is it alright for brothers and sisters/parents and offspring to breed or is that only acceptable in West Virginia?

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Aedryan Methyus For This Useful Post:

Bogertophis (01-16-2019),DandD (01-16-2019)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,179 Times in 575 Posts

Re: Inbreeding With Rats?

Aedryan - There is a very good Facebook group about breeding feeders of all sorts. Called Feeder Breeder Enthusiasts (shockingly minimal drama for a FB group, only 1 post in the 3 months I've been keeping up with it and admins shut it down pretty quickly.)

I'm far from an expert, but according to members on here, in that group, and the scientific community, rodents (rats and mice particularly) can be bred parent to offspring or sibling to sibling for many generations before hitting issues with inbreeding. It is a commonly used method to breed out negative traits, even, including biting, chewing, aggression, small litter size, etc. There are laboratory populations of rodents that have been closed populations (no new blood) for decades, although I forget which one(s) those were.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Stewart_Reptiles; 01-17-2019 at 12:02 AM.

4. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to pretends2bnormal For This Useful Post:

Aedryan Methyus (01-16-2019),Bogertophis (01-16-2019),Kira (01-16-2019),MissterDog (01-16-2019),redshepherd (01-16-2019)

Thanks
    Thanked 19,792 Times in 11,827 Posts

When I bred rats, I avoided much inbreeding, but as already noted, it usually takes a long time for issues to show up, & if they