Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,859

4 members and 3,855 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,537
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Question Just a few questions

Allright so I got a ball python around 3 weeks ago , bad thing for me to get it from petsmart as I’m new to reptiles , they told me to feed it adudlt mice , when they where feeding it 2 pinky’s , so the first week was a bit much probably stressful for the snake because it didn’t eat for 2 weeks ( didn’t eat for a week at pet store ) but finally somone helped me out and I gave him a fuzzy and it took it very fast , so it did try to bite at me once during that week as I handled it , I put it down on my bed , I was assuming this was from lack of food or jsut stress I took it out , after I fed him and waited 2 days he’s been a real sweet heart and I love taking him out once every here n there no more then 4 times a week since it is young , but was wondering this , it gets scared of me when it sees me in it’s tank like it goes right to strike position, never tried to bite when I took him out , but he gets very scared , so wondering what that could mean or if there is somthing I need to do , also for some reason as he was in my hand , tried to strike the air ( nothing was in front of him he was facing away from me , but mouth was closed ? So I’m wondering if he is scared or what to do , he isn’t aggressive at all , very calm but recently has been very timid I’m confused , even when it didn’t eat it was never scared

Thanks
    Thanked 19,826 Times in 11,845 Posts
    In the wild, anything that picks up a snake is normally a predator that's going to eat it. Snakes are predators, sure, but they're also the prey at times. And it takes