Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,526

5 members and 3,521 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,095
Threads: 248,538
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Daisyg
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    BPnet Veteran
    Thanks

"Teyo" new dumeril boa progression

Hello friends, its been a little over 2 weeks now having Teyo is he is such a sweetheart. He is just starting to burrow himself into the substrate with just his little snout sticking out...so freaking cute! He is eating alright, but does not like taking his food off the tongs. He prefers for me to just lay it down and let him be. Although he does not let it lay there for to long.

I am still learning about his personality but so far, he is very gentle and sweet but a tad bit shy. He likes to hang out on the cool side of his enclosure in his hide or burrowed in the substrate. I am still tryint to twee the heat as I dont want it to hot or to cold. My other boa who is a hypo hog island boa is on the same heat strip as she prefers the lower temps as well.

I havent handled him that much, but the other night I had him out and I was looking at his color and pattern. He is much darker then his clutch mates, as a matter of fact, I saw one of his sisters yesterday and she was much lighter in color, almost a tan-brown and the markings on her head were more visable then my boy. She was even a tad bit bigger.... I started thinking maybe I got the little runt of the group or the ugly duckling! But no matter what, i know my boy will grow into a beautiful snake. He had his first shed last week and is a dark chocolate almost.
    Are dumerils suppose to be dark as youngsters? I thought dumerils get darker as they mature? Or will my guy get lighter as he grows?

Thanks in advance for your helpful comments and tips, as i appreciate them!!