Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,811

0 members and 2,811 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,077
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, RaginBull
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 UTHs?

Thanks

2 UTHs?

Quick question...

So, I made the complete noob mistake of going with a glass tank so as you could've guessed, I'm fighting humidity issues. Can't seem to get it above 46, 47%. I have half the screen lid taped to help trap humidity but left the other side mostly open as to be able to run a CHE since the single UTH (which covers 50% of the tank floor) can't seem to get the ambient temps to 80, or so. I'm aware the CHE is killing my humidity but I'm kinda in the "trial & error" phase right now.

Question is, would it be okay to remove the CHE, finish taping the other side of the lid, leaving maybe a small opening for ventilation, and install a 2nd UTH on the other side (covering the whole floor from underneath) in hopes it will keep the ambient around 80? Hope this makes sense.

Thanks for reading!

Sometimes It Hurts... PitOnTheProwl's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 6,985 Times in 4,274 Posts
    The point of an UTH is to create a hot spot on the floor.
    A properly regulated mat will not do much to ambient temperature, hope you have it on a thermostat and the glass under your substrate should be where you are taking your temp reading from.
    What wattage is your CHE?
    Option is to raise the temperature in that room.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PitOnTheProwl For This Useful Post:

MR Snakes (12-10-2018),Shayne (12-10-2018)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 907 Posts

Re: 2 UTHs?