Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,035

2 members and 2,033 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,101 Times in 460 Posts

How my snake helps with my depression-- anyone else have depression?

I struggle with depression, and especially on mornings like this when my partner and kids have left the house, and I have a day off after a tough day at work yesterday (I'm a nurse). This little snake gives me something to look forward to each day. She hangs out in my robe pocket while I make coffee, then she sits in my hand while I drink it until she gets tired of that, and then she hangs out in my sleeve. She's so gentle and cute and playful-- and most of the time she's very calm! I never thought I'd bond with a snake, and I never thought a snake would bond with me. :-)

I discovered the snake-therapy thing when my daughter bought a nearly full grown BP. She happens to be very snappy and bitey-- I don't think she was handled much before we got her. But what started as being part of the family effort to hold her and tame her turned into therapy for me! I realized that the gentle pressure of squeezing on my arms was very calming, similar to a weighted blanket effect. And they are so gentle as they slither, and "taste test" with their tongues. And you have to be calm so they stay calm.