Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 253

12 members and 241 guests
Most users ever online was 3,642, 05-08-2016 at 09:50 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 62,492
Threads: 235,551
Top Poster: JLC (31,652)
Welcome to our newest member, squid13
    Thanks

Newbie & uncertain about my temperatures/husbandry

So I recently adopted my first ever snake, and I am very excited about it. I did tons of research into proper care and husbandry but I'm still a little unsure about my heating system. I live in the Pacific Northwest, and I am a college student so my house is generally unheated and rather cold (think about 65*F). I am housing my ball python, Pixie, in a 10 gallon glass terrarium with a locking lid as she is only about 70g. I covered the back and side walls with construction paper to make it a little less open.

During the day I have a 75watt UVA/UVB light which I mainly use to maintain a day/night cycle with a light timer. For heating, I have an ExoTerra 10-20 gallon heat mat underneath the bottom on one side of the tank (on the outside, using the peg feet for proper ventilation) and I have the thermostat probe on the glass on the inside (I secured it using aquarium silicone) which I keep set at 90*F. Because I was a little worried about the ambient temperature I got a Zoo Med Mini UTH which I put on the side wall (on the same side as the other heating mat) and because there isn't substrate in between the vertical glass and the snake I keep that thermostat set at about 83*F just to be a little extra careful.