Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,006

1 members and 3,005 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,490
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
    Thanks

Question Ambient heat question!

Hello, I'm a bit new to snake keeping, and have successfully kept a baby BCI for about a year now, but I've moved houses and some new questions have popped up for me. So, I've kept my BCI in a plastic tub for awhile with two heat pads for the cold and hot spaces. The hot space is set at 90 degrees while the cold spot hovers around 78-80 degrees. Both have separate thermostats. My problem is the new house I stay at, the room temperature hovers around 60-70 degrees I'll have to keep the BCI in, and I'll be getting a T-8 from animal plastics. My question is if I have heat mats to keep the cold side and warm side at proper temps if the ambient temp will be a problem, or if I should get a RHP or a CHE to boost ambient temps?

The cage he'll be staying in will be in a carpeted room, and the substrate I use is aspen wood shavings. I have no problems with humidity, as the place I live in already has very high humidity on it's own and it's very easy to raise the humidity in his cage.

(Sorry if this question has been asked before!)

BPnet Veteran
    Thanks