Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,481

0 members and 2,481 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,524
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Concerns about my new BP - Please help!

Hello! I am new to this whole thing and have been trying to read as many of these threads as I can. I purchased a male BP at a reptile convention on July 28th. I was told his hatch date was January 22, 2018, so he was 6 months old. I had a cage all ready for him, which I have since learned is much too big (40 gallon). I left him alone to acclimate for a week, and then tried feeding him. I put him in a small plastic tub with a thawed hopper mouse. He ate it after a couple minutes, no problem. Fast forward to the next week, I did the same thing and he ate again, no problem. That was his last meal. I tried again each week for 6 weeks to no avail. I tried different times of day, I tried leaving him in with the mouse for an hour, we didn't handle him 48 or so hours before trying to feed him, I made sure his water was full and fresh, his tank heat and humidity was consistent... So this last attempt to feed him (number 7 I guess), I tried something different. I put the little plastic tub I'd been feeding him in, into his tank on the middle of the temp gradient. I thought this might make him feel more safe, and I could leave it in there for a longer period of time, and inside the tub, the mouse wouldn't be sitting on top of the substrate (I took it out and warmed it with a hair dryer every 3ish hours). Y'all, I thought I broke him. He stared at that damn mouse without moving for 12 HOURS. Finally I took it out to see if it would break him out of his spell. He crawled up in his tree and didn't move for another 12 hours. Thinking I must have