Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 497

0 members and 497 guests
No Members online
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

Ziggy31984 (40)

» Stats

Members: 75,014
Threads: 248,474
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, DetectiveIcarus
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Telling it like it is! Stewart_Reptiles's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 20,811 Times in 9,584 Posts
    Blog Entries

Easy egg tub setup

A lot of issue people may experience are either egg drying out and collapsing or eggs being too wet and starting to mold, I found this method to be fool proof and I have been using it now for a little over 10 years with ZERO issue.

What will you need?

The supply list is pretty simple.

6 or 7 quarts tub similar to this http://www.sterilite.com/SelectProdu...=180&section=1 You will be able to hatch 10 to 12 egg clutches in those tubs for larger clutches or big eggs use a 12 or 15 quarts tub.

Light diffuser sheet https://www.lowes.com/pd/PLASKOLITE-...Panels/3280904

Perlite https://www.homedepot.com/p/Vigoro-2...1091/205655210 or vermiculite (I prefer perlite)

Water

Painter masking tape similar to this https://www.walmart.com/ip/Scotch-Ma...Yards/25517009

Pen

First get your tub and label it, I like to use painter masking tape to make my labels, it’s cheap and comes of easy without leaving residue. You can also write directly on the tub.

Once labeled add 4 cups of perlite (or vermiculite) in your tub followed by 1.5 cup of water.

Mix the perlite and water together.

Once done place the light diffuser (cut to the dimensions of your tub) on the top of the substrate.

Now all you need are some eggs.