Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,217

1 members and 3,216 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,534
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Ball Python Burrowing

Hi so I’m new to this snake business, and I just got my first snake (a cinnamon ball python) around Three months ago and so far everything seems fine, but he does some weird things that might not be that weird and I’m just being paranoid. So he is on a substrate of a mixture of Cyprus mulch, coconut fiber, and sphagnum moss. For some reason he likes to burrow around in it, Which I wouldn’t be worried about except he sometimes gets small pieces of wood or coconut fiber stuck in the sides of his mouth. He doesn’t seem to be bothered by it (still moving around, tongue flicking normally and eating normally) and I don’t know if I should leave it there for him to eventually swallow it or get it out. If anyone could offer me some advice that’d be great.

Banned
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,072 Times in 5,330 Posts
    All completely normal. They burrow, some more than others. And get some substrate stuck to their faces comes with the territory.

Thanks
    Thanked 19,825 Times in 11,844 Posts
    What kind of heat are you using on this enclosure? UTH? If so, he might be burrowing to get closer to the heat...if substrate is too deep, it actually
    prevents some of the (UTH) heat from rising into the cage where the snake needs it. Also, what are the temperatures in the cage? I honestly don't
    like to see substrate stuck in a snake's mouth either....if he pushes hard enough, 'wood pieces' might just break the skin & cause an infection. I've
    kept BPs in the past, & never had one that burrowed.
    Last edited by Bogertophis; 05-18-2018 at 12:16 AM.

Thanks