Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,823

2 members and 2,821 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,031
Threads: 248,489
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, isismomma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Question IS my rescue a BCC or BCI?

I'm picking up a boa constrictor tomorrow. The man I'm getting him from hasn't given me his specific species or locality, but claims he is a Jungle morph. (I don't think he's a jungle, his patterns super regular.) Anyways, I'm leaning more towards BCC but want input. What is he?

I've named him Lugwrench. He is just under 2 years old and the man says "about three feet."

Thanks
    Thanked 9,691 Times in 3,863 Posts

Re: IS my rescue a BCC or BCI?

Probably a BCC. I don't see jungle either, but I am not an expert.

Pretty much all morphs, and most Boa's sold, are BCI's. Unless stated as BCC's, or True Red Tails, it's doubtful he is one.

Either way, make sure to read up and ask questions. There are quite a few Boa people on here. Not sure what other snakes you have, but if it's a male BCI, he likely won't get huge (like a female BCI, or like a true BCC). Also, be sure to make sure husbandry and tank size, etc. are correct and adequate.

Finally, BCI's, and even more so, BCC's, need to be slow grown or they can have shorter lives (even drastically) and health issues.

Less is more with food for Boa's.

I have a female BCI, Behira, who will be two years old in June. She's about 3 1/2-4FT and weighs about 805 grams before last feeding and empty. She eats small rats currently, and is fed every two weeks. I will got to every three weeks when she's on medium rats, and every 4 weeks when on large rats. Females, as adults, need to eat a little more than males as adults.

A lean and strong BCI is way better than a heavy BCI.