Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,041

1 members and 2,040 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,071
Threads: 248,522
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, jpriebe2
    Thanks

Brand new to snakes

Hi there. I am brand brand brand new to snakes. I mean, we have lots of snakes in our backyard. Garters, milk, and Massassauga rattlers. And I am charmed every time I am fortunate enough to see one. But a month or so back, we found a garter in our house. Guess he found a way in for the winter. I live in Ontario, and the winter has been a harsh one this year! We caught him and my husband put him in a pail. I did some quick Google research, that recommended trying to get him to brumate (not sure if that's a word! LOL I only see reference to brumation.) Anyways, put the pail down in our cold room, thinking he'd go to sleep and we'll release in the spring. HAHA that's how much I knew/know about snakes! When I came downstairs next day, of COURSE the pail was empty.

Well, about a week later, he showed up again upstairs. So now I have him in a very big and deep box that he can't get out of. He won't be "bromating" because he's upstairs. I have put in the box some simple "homegrown" hides, put some branches in there, and a bowl of water. He's been checking everything out. I even bought 3 feeder minnows for him at a local pet store, with a cheap plastic fish bowl, because apparently that's what garters eat (among other things that I don't have access to). The fish haven't been touched, although he did dip into the fish bowl, so I know that he knows they are there! I can't wait for it to be warm enough so I can release him back to his natural habitat.