Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 3,018

3 members and 3,015 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,079
Threads: 248,525
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Remarkable
    Thanks

How to heat a few reptiles without causing a power outage

Let me introduce by saying I stalk this forum occasionally, but this is my first time posting - I tend to ramble, so please bear with me. Also I'm not sure if this is in the right forum.

So to explain, I live in a humble little apartment and for now I've only got 3 reptiles - a ball python and two leopard geckos. I want more scaley babies, but my boyfriend was concerned that all the lamps and heat pads would make our power go out. Now I don't know much about how electrical sources work, but when we have too many things on at once, our unit's power goes out and we have to call a grumpy super to go into the locked basement to turn our power back on. The last time we made our power go out, we had two 70-watt spotlight bulbs, two 65-watt red night bulbs, and one 15-watt heat mat, in addition to the lights of 3 rooms being on, with two air conditioners and (probably the straw that broke the camel's back here) a little microwave.

Now, I don't want to have to worry about causing my power to go out every summer when we've got the air conditioners on again, and between then and now the major change was that I separated the leos, so that's a whole extra tank that needs heating. I'm slightly concerned about this summer, but because I know our limits a little better, I'm confident I can just take extra care with the extra appliances being on.