Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 2,858

2 members and 2,856 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

» Stats

Members: 75,087
Threads: 248,528
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, FayeZero
    Thanks

Ball Python Setup

Hello! I am new to keeping reptiles and while I have read most of the sticky posts regarding ball pythons and their habitats, I would really appreciate some more advanced eyes double checking my setup

This is my pastel ball python Fran, I got her on Sunday and will try to feed her this Sunday. From Sunday- Tuesday, I had her in a plastic tub setup with hides, water, and a UTH. However, I wanted to be able to see her more and be able to more closely monitor her temperature and humidity, so I switched her into this setup. She has mostly been staying in her hot hide, which I've read is normal behavior for the first few days?
    [IMG][/IMG]

Her current setup is as follows:

20 gallon long tank
    20 gallon UTH with thermostat
    100 watt CHE over hot side
    Forest floor substrate
    2 hides, one hot and one cold
    One large water dish
    Decorations (fake plants, large grapevine wood thing)
    Screen top with clips, and a piece of plexiglass over about 3/4 of the top to avoid problems with humidity
    thermo-hygrometer on hot side of tank to monitor humidity

Here are some pics of the setup:
    [IMG][/IMG][IMG][/IMG]

Does this setup look acceptable? To monitor temperature I have been using a temp gun to take the temperature several times a day, and have been misting the tank a few times a day to keep the humidity up because of the CHE. Also, you can't see her hot hide here, but it's on the left behind her log. Thanks for any input/ tips/ suggestions!!

Thanks
    Thanked 5,435 Times in 2,891 Posts