Vote for BP.Net for the 2013 Forum of the Year! Click here for more info.

» Site Navigation

» Home
 > FAQ

» Online Users: 1,268

1 members and 1,267 guests
Most users ever online was 6,337, 01-24-2020 at 04:30 AM.

» Today's Birthdays

None

» Stats

Members: 75,093
Threads: 248,532
Top Poster: JLC (31,651)
Welcome to our newest member, Amethyst42
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Rat/mouse nutrition question

Normally I feed one scoop of dog food to one scoop of my cereal mix (puffed rice/wheat, pasta, cherrios etc) but now that I've switched to lab style cages, the food hoppers will only hold the dog food. Will it harm the rats to only feed the dog food, and not the cereal mix?

April
    My art gallery (herp related) http://cerulean-serpent.deviantart.com/

Thanks

Re: Rat/mouse nutrition question

Hm.. I am not an expert on this, but I would be afraid there may be too much protein?
    I feed mine lab blocks from SunSeed. They seem to be working out really well; fat, healthy rats that are breeding out of control!
    -Jen. Back in the hobby after a hiatus!
    Ball pythons:
    0.1 normal; 1.1 albino. 1.0 pied; 0.1 het pied; 1.0 banana.

Thanks

I was feeding dog food to my daughter's pet rat Scabbers, and he started getting "bites"/scabs. The vet said it was diet related. Went with the vet's directions of fresh fruit/veggies, stopping the dog food and little to none of the rat food mix (ya know...corn, seeds, etc. from the pet store). Scabs cleared up. Looking to get a female & start breeding my own since my BP won't eat the juvies that I've bought the last 3 times---of which Scabbers was the first.

Any suggestions as to cages, diet, as I get started??? I've never bred rats before, just cared for the established colonies in college.

Thanks!!
    Sweety314